Subscribe:Posts Comments

You Are Here: Home » SPORTS » Paris Saint Germain crowned Ligue 1 champion

Laurent Blanc’s men have secured another title thanks to Monaco’s draw with Guingamp, sealing back-to-back French championships for les Parisiens
Paris Saint-Germain claimed consecutive Ligue 1 titles for the first time in the club’s history on Wednesday due to Monaco dropping points at home to Guingamp.

Victory at Parc des Princes over Rennes would have ensured that Laurent Blanc’s side could not be caught by Monaco with only two matches of the season remaining, but Claudio Ranieri’s men did the job for them ahead of kickoff by drawing at Stade Louis II.

After making a sluggish start to the domestic campaign, PSG only reached the top of the Ligue 1 standings in mid-October. But, since an emphatic 4-0 success over Bastia on matchday 10, PSG has not been touched at the summit.

The Ligue 1 title is only PSG’s fourth national league crown, which leaves the club some way behind France’s most successful club, Saint-Etienne, whose 10 titles were all achieved between 1964 and 1981.

PSG also won the Coupe de la Ligue for a record fourth time this season, but the Coupe de France is out of its hands with Guingamp having beaten Rennes 2-0 to lift the trophy.


© 2014 Haitipoukris · Subscribe:PostsComments · Designed by Levanjiltv · Powered by Levanjiltv
Geo Visitors Map